dairy-free and kosher

  • Clay
  • Clay's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
8 years 4 months ago #26 by Clay
dairy-free and kosher was created by Clay
An Info for all lactose intolerant people: Whenever you get the chance of eating kosher, do it!
Some kosher products are lactose-free, cause Jews are not allowed to eat dairy and meat at the same time.
Kosher certification is a very complex system, but there are simple rules for lactose-intolerant people:

The Orthodox Union's symbol is the most famous one. Their symbol is the U in the circle:
lactose-free are products signed as OU, OU-D, OU-M, OU-Glatt

generally speaking for kosher systems:
D - Implies the product has Dairy ingredients.- not lactose-free
DE - Implies the product is processed on Equipment that processes Dairy ingredients. - not lactose-free
M - Implies the product contains meat / poultry or processed on meat / poultry equipment. - lactose-free
P - Implies the products is kosher for Passover, but may not be Pareve (non-milk or meat).

hope that helps some people out there!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.314 seconds


Remember Me
Forgot username  Forgot password



Certifications & Quality

This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify. This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information: verify here.

quality criteria logoThe information provided is created in compliance with a self-imposed quality management procedure


The information provided on the Food Intolerance Network website is no substitute for a visit to a registered dietician, nutritionist or a doctor. The information that you will find here may not be used as a substitute for professional advice and treatment by a medical professional or approved and registered dieticians. The content of the Food Intolerance Network website may not be used as a basis or means for any form of self-diagnosis.

Go to top