• MrT
  • MrT's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
5 years 2 months ago #323 by MrT
new to fructose malabsorption was created by MrT
hey there
I am new to the whole fructose malabsorption thing... just reading some sites and books...
I don't get it... so here are some questions, maybe you can help me:

1. what about sugar? Good or bad?
2. what about agave syrup? good or bad?
3. whatg about potatoes? Good or bad?
4. what about nuts? good or bad?
5. are there any cross reactions to intolerances? I mean allergies?

Thank you!

I am also lactose intolerant and it looks like I react to nuts and peanuts. but i didn't get tested yet.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 1 month ago #324 by AllisonT
Replied by AllisonT on topic new to fructose malabsorption
I am no expert myself, but I've read a lot over the christmas holidays... so here are my two cents:

1. what about sugar? Good or bad? - Bad in first weeks, okay after the test phase
2. what about agave syrup? good or bad? - don't know
3. whatg about potatoes? Good or bad? - good, but cut them in small pieces before you cook them
4. what about nuts? good or bad? - I think they are kay, except peanuts
5. are there any cross reactions to intolerances? I mean allergies? - don't know that...

More
5 years 1 month ago #333 by jtlevi
Replied by jtlevi on topic new to fructose malabsorption
I was diagnosed with FM 3 years ago so know quite a bit. You might want to research going on a FODMAP diet. If you have an intolerance to fructose, you may have intolerances to other sugars. The FODMAP diet will eliminate all of these and then you can introduce things back every 2-3 days and monitor your symptoms. This was very hard when I did it and I had a Registered Dietician help me through it. Took 2 months of complete elimination before my gut felt better.

To answer your above questions....