An Info for all lactose intolerant people: Whenever you get the chance of eating kosher, do it!
Some kosher products are lactose-free, cause Jews are not allowed to eat dairy and meat at the same time.
Kosher certification is a very complex system, but there are simple rules for lactose-intolerant people:
The Orthodox Union's symbol is the most famous one. Their symbol is the U in the circle:
lactose-free are products signed as OU, OU-D, OU-M, OU-Glatt
generally speaking for kosher systems:
D - Implies the product has Dairy ingredients.- not lactose-free
DE - Implies the product is processed on Equipment that processes Dairy ingredients. - not lactose-free
M - Implies the product contains meat / poultry or processed on meat / poultry equipment. - lactose-free
P - Implies the products is kosher for Passover, but may not be Pareve (non-milk or meat).
The information provided on the Food Intolerance Network website is no substitute for a visit to a registered dietician, nutritionist or a doctor. The information that you will find here may not be used as a substitute for professional advice and treatment by a medical professional or approved and registered dieticians. The content of the Food Intolerance Network website may not be used as a basis or means for any form of self-diagnosis.