Advertising

Wheat_fieldWhat is Gluten?

Gluten (from Latin for "glue") is a protein composite that appears in foods processed from wheat and related species. It gives elasticity to dough, helping it to rise and to keep its shape, and often giving the final product a chewy texture.

Strictly speaking, gluten is not the correct scientific term, but it is rather a collective term for the different components of protein in wheat and rye. Research has been conducted on the subject of proteins in the different types of grain since 1907, and since then they have been classified into albumins, globulins, prolamines and glutelins. These groups are again divided into different sub-groups which are in turn divided into further sub-groups. Which means it all gets quite complicated.

Gluten is most commonly used as a collective term for prolamines and glutelins. In the case of wheat the group involves gliadin (a prolamin) and glutenin (a glutelin).

Gliadin has by now been identified as the trigger for coeliac disease (a condition where a gluten-free diet must be observed). However, there are also other components which can cause trouble, which is why, on this website, we always refer to gluten in order to keep it simple. It is essential for coeliacs to remain on a gluten-free diet for life!

Around 80% of the wheat grain consists of gluten.

Sources:
Stryer, L., Biochemie, Specktrum Akademischer Verlag, 4. Auflage
Beliz, H.D., Lehrbuch der Lebensmittelchemie, Springer Verlag, 2001

login

Register
Remember Me
Forgot username  Forgot password

Advertising

Advertising

Certifications & Quality

This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify. This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information: verify here.

quality criteria logoThe information provided is created in compliance with a self-imposed quality management procedure

Disclaimer

The information provided on the Food Intolerance Network website is no substitute for a visit to a registered dietician, nutritionist or a doctor. The information that you will find here may not be used as a substitute for professional advice and treatment by a medical professional or approved and registered dieticians. The content of the Food Intolerance Network website may not be used as a basis or means for any form of self-diagnosis.

Go to top